Posted in emotional abuse

Sticks, Stones and Words


Bully,

I just wanted to write to remind you that we were all born naked.  

We all put our pants on one leg at a time and when cut, we all bleed.

Of course you can spout off about anything you want, you can flail your arms and kick your heels, but I happen to know that deep down inside — under your facade, there are feelings. And deep down or maybe not so deep down, there is a reason why you act in the ways that you do.

I’m sorry, that’s your problem or issue to work out.

Do not inflict your lack of social grace or emotional ineptitude on me.

We all have troubles, woes or whatever name you want to put on it.  My troubles are no less important to me than your troubles are to you.  

So, if you need a pin-cushion buy a pillow.  

Sticks and stones may break my bones but names can never hurt me….sound familiar?  

It’s a lie.  

Sticks and stones will break my bones, cut my skin and make me bleed, 

but names will crush my inner spirit and that’s where bullies will succeed.

If you have nothing nice to say or don’t truly want to know me, leave me alone.

Sincerely,

Not your victim anymore

Leave a Reply

